Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
The four men who died on 10 May 2019 Fenrick Sturrup, Edward Williams, Austin Smith and David Tucker
Marking the anniversary at the RBDF Base
The Governor General Dame Marguerite Pindling joined the observances

The Progressive Liberal Party issued the following statement on the anniversary of the death of the four marines on 10th May:


Statement From the Leader of the Opposition

On The Anniversary of the Sinking Of HMBS Flamingo

For Immediate Release

10 May 2019

Thirty-nine years ago today and six weeks into its existence,  the Royal Bahamas Defence Force suffered a devastating and unforgettable loss. The HMBS Flamingo was sunk by Cuban Migs, an act for which Cuba later apologized and paid some compensation.

Today the Progressive Liberal Party remembers those terrible events and the sacrifices of the four young men who died. They made the ultimate sacrifice in the defence of their country.

We remember the late Fenrick Sturrup, David Tucker, Edward Williams and Austin Smith. May they rest in peace.

We remember their late Captain Amos Rolle who passed away just this year.

We pray for the survivors who are still with us.

God’s richest blessings upon the RBDF and upon our Commonwealth of the Bahamas.