The All Merit Scholars

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email


From: Bahamas Information Services

August 9, 2019

Two Students Make History by Receiving the All Bahamas Merit Scholar Award

By: Kathryn Campbell

NASSAU, The Bahamas — For the first time in 25 years, two outstanding Bahamians have been recognized as All Bahamas Merit scholars.

The 2019 winners, Mahlia Neely, a graduate of Queen’s College High School and Dehron Smith, a graduate of Nassau Christian Academy, have received full scholarships valued at $140,000 to attend colleges abroad.

The Governor General, the Most Hon. Cornelius A. Smith, headed the list of dignitaries at a special ceremony to honour the 17 All Bahamas Merit and National Merit scholars in the Ballroom of Government House, Thursday, August 8, 2019.

Ministry of Education officials including the Hon. Jeffrey Lloyd, Minister of Education; Lorraine Armbrister, Permanent Secretary; representatives of the Scholarship and Educational Loan Division and the National Scholarship Committee, family, friends and well-wishers were also in attendance.

This year’s recipients represent six high schools, namely Queen’s College, St. Augustine’s College, Nassau Christian Academy, St. Andrew’s International School, St. John’s College and Lakeview Classical Academy. The All Bahamas Merit Award is valued at $35,000 per annum for up to five years, it is tenable at accredited universities and colleges locally and abroad

The National Merit Scholarship is the second highest level of scholarship awarded by The Bahamas Government. It has a maximum value of $25,000 per year for up to four years and is also tenable at accredited universities, colleges or institutions locally and abroad.The Governor General presented the scholars with their awards. (BIS Photo/Patrick Hanna).