Chinese Scholarships

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

NASSAU, Bahamas  (BIS) —  Eleven Bahamians are recipients of scholarships from the Government of the People’s Republic of China to study in that country. In making the announcement on August 22, 2018, at a reception held in their honour at the Chinese Embassy on East Shirley Street, Mr. Jack Thompson, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, said the students will pursue various programmes of study ranging from the Bachelors to the Doctoral levels.

Included among those present for the ceremony were His Excellency Haung Qinguo, Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China,  and other Embassy officials; Sharon Brennen-Haylock,  Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) Director General; Meryl Deveaux, First Assistant Secretary and Head of the Honorary Consul Unit and Technical Assistance Division, and other MFA staff; Bridgette Hepburn, Deputy Permanent Secretary; Sophia Ingraham, Assistant Secretary of the Ministry of Public Service; and Serethea Clarke, Acting Under Secretary, Human Resources and Examination & Assessment Division of the Ministry of Education; as well as parents and guardians.

Scholarship recipients, pictured at the ceremony, include Asher Jewell Percentie, Valencia Runell Laroda, Antoniqua Cephanette Pinder, Garnece Anrielle Ferguson, Ricardo Antonio Jacques, Ronnel Armbrister, Dawnique Maycock, Rubyn Newton, Cherika Johnson, Danielle Smith and Kemie Jones.(BIS Photos/Eric Rose)