Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Painting from Swan Song of The Flamingo by Kishan Munroe

From The Office Of Chairman of The Progressive Liberal Party

On The Anniversary Of The Sinking of HMBS Flamingo 10 May 1980

For Immediate Release


10 May 2018

Today the PLP joins with the nation in remembering the sacrifice made by four young men on the open seas near Ragged Island on 10 May 1980.  Able Seaman Fenrick Sturrup (21), Marine Seaman Austin Rudolph Smith (21), Marine Seaman David Allison Tucker (21) and Marine Seaman Edward Arnold Williams (23) died on that day when their vessel the HMBS Flamingo was sunk by Cuban MIGs.  We remember them and the ultimate sacrifice which they made for our country.  We pray for the repose of their souls.  We remember all who were on board that day and thank them for what they did.

We extend to the Royal Bahamas Defence Force our deepest condolences.  We thank all officers of the Force for their continued work to protect our country.